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The 2015 property tax bills will be mailed by August 15 with a single-installment due date of 
October 15. Taxpayers may choose to make partial payments as long as the total due is paid 
by October 15.

There are several options for property tax payment:
• Pay online by check, credit or debit card at www.GwinnettTaxCommissioner.com.

- Pay by check for free.
- Pay by debit card for a $3.95 flat fee.
- Pay by credit card for a 2.29% convenience fee.

• Mail payments to P.O. Box 372, Lawrenceville, GA 30046.
• Pay by check using drop boxes 24 hours a day at all Tax Commissioner offices.
• Pay in person during business hours at all Tax Commissioner offices.

If you have an escrow account, your property tax information will be made available to your 
mortgage company; however, it is ultimately the responsibility of the property owner to 
ensure taxes are paid. If you have questions about whether your mortgage company will be 
paying your taxes, contact them directly, especially if the company has recently changed.

Taxes not paid by the due date will accrue interest at a rate of 1% per month. Any amount 
remaining 90 days after the due date will be assessed an additional 10% penalty.

To see 2015 tax amounts, access your property tax information on our website, or contact 
the office at tax@gwinnettcounty.com or 770-822-8800.
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Understanding Your 2015 Tax Bill

1.  Name 
Owner of record as of January 1 of the tax year 
billed. In cases of multiple property owners, up to 
two names will appear. Bills will be sent to both the 
January 1 owner and the new owner, if known. See 
also Property Bought or Sold on reverse.
2.  Property Location & Description
Street address and legal description as provided by 
the Board of Assessors. 
3.  Parcel ID
Primary identifier for your property. Use this 
number to access property records on our website. 
Reference this number when contacting our office.
4.  Appraisal Detail
Appraised value as assessed by the Board of 
Assessors for this property for this tax year. The 
assessed value is 40% of the appraisal and is used 
with the millage rate to calculate total taxes due. 
5.  Credits & Exemptions 
Current approved exemptions that reduce total 
taxes due.
6.  Millage Rate
All rates are set by the Board of Commissioners, the 
Board of Education, the state and cities and used to 
calculate the total taxes due.  
7.  County Taxes 
County taxes are levied by the Board of 
Commissioners to fund most County operations and 
services, including recreation and bond repayment. 
If you live within a city’s limits, you will see no charge 
for services that are not provided by the County. 
All property owners except those in the city of 
Loganville will see a service charge for Fire and EMS. 
If you live in unincorporated Gwinnett, you will see a 
charge for Development/Code Enforcement and Police 
Services. Cities that do not operate their own police 
departments will also see a Police Services charge. 
8.  School Taxes
The Board of Education sets their tax rate 
independent of the Board of Commissioners. The 
Tax Commissioner bills taxes on behalf of the 
County school system.
9.  State, City and Other Taxes
The State of Georgia levies 0.05 mill to fund state 
operations and services. There will be a gradual 
reduction of the state property tax due to a tax 
reform bill passed by the Georgia General Assembly. 

10.  Non-Ad Valorem Assessments 
Fees and assessments that are not related to ad valorem property taxes. Includes 
fees for solid waste services, stormwater utility services, street lights and speed 
tables. Consult a tax advisor regarding the deductibility of these fees from income 
tax. 
11.  Payment Stub
Return this stub with your payment by the due date to avoid penalty and interest. 
12.  Quick Response (QR) Code
If you scan the QR code on your actual Property Tax Bill, it will link to your tax 
information on our website. You can pay online or get more details about your 
taxes. 

Richard Steele, Tax Commissioner
www.GwinnettTaxCommissioner.com        

NOTICE OF TAXES - GWINNETT COUNTY, GEORGIA

OWNER OF RECORD

PROPERTY LOCATION & DESCRIPTION

PARCEL ID TAX YEAR

            1234 MAIN ST
MAIN ST

 2015R1234 001

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION THAT MAY HELP ANSWER YOUR QUESTIONS, PLEASE SEE THE REVERSE SIDE OF THIS NOTICE.  If you have an 

escrow account, your tax information is available to your mortgage company; however, it is your responsibility to ensure taxes are paid.
The gradual reduction and elimination of the state property tax is the result of property tax relief passed by the Governor and the General Assembly.

Lilburn CID 07 Taxable

     GWINNETT TAXPAYER 

APPRAISAL DETAIL YOUR EXEMPTION & CREDIT SAVINGS

GWINNETT HOMESTEAD:

CITY HOMESTEAD:

$214.20

$191.95

$22.25

DISTRICT

LAND VALUE:

BUILDING VALUE:

TOTAL VALUE:

ASSESSED VALUE:

252,000

220,000

472,000

188,800
ACREAGE:  0.6887 TOTAL HOMESTEAD:

COUNTY GOVERNMENT TAXES - Levied by the Board of Commissioners and representing 26.65% of your total ad valorem tax amount.

TAXING AUTHORITY ASSESSED VALUE VOE EXEMPTIONS TAXABLE VALUE MILL RATE TAXES LEVIED== X- -

 188,800COUNTY GENERAL FUND  1,323.12 0  178,800  0.007400 10,000

 45.31 188,800DETENTION CENTER BOND  0  188,800  0.000240 0

 188,800  0.00DEVELOPMENT/CODE ENFORCEMENT  0  178,800  0.000000 10,000

 572.16 188,800FIRE & EMS  0  178,800  0.003200 10,000

 188,800  0.00POLICE  0  178,800  0.000000 10,000

 188,800  172.71RECREATION  0  181,800  0.000950 7,000

 2,113.30 0.011790TOTAL COUNTY TAXES

SCHOOL TAXES - Levied by the Board of Education and representing 51.02% of your total ad valorem tax amount.

TAXING AUTHORITY ASSESSED VALUE EXEMPTIONS TAXABLE VALUE MILL RATE TAXES LEVIED== X- -VOE

SCHOOL  188,800  0  184,800  0.019800  3,659.04 4,000
SCHOOL BOND  188,800  0  188,800  0.002050  387.04 0
TOTAL SCHOOL TAXES  4,046.08 0.021850

STATE, CITY & OTHER TAXES - Levied by state, city or other authorities and representing 22.33% of your total ad valorem tax amount.

TAXING AUTHORITY ASSESSED VALUE VOE EXEMPTIONS TAXABLE VALUE MILL RATE TAXES LEVIED== X- -

LILBURN  188,800  0  183,800  0.004450  817.91 5,000

 188,800  0  188,800  0.005000  944.00LILBURN CID  0

 188,800  0  186,800  0.000050  9.34STATE  2,000

TOTAL OTHER TAXES  1,771.25

TOTAL MILLAGE RATE:    0.043140 TOTAL AD VALOREM TAXES:   7,930.63  

NON-AD VALOREM ASSESSMENTS COMBINED TAXES AND ASSESSMENTS

LEVYING AUTHORITY RATE AMOUNT CHARGE AMOUNT

COUNTY SOLID WASTE $19.12/month  229.44 AD VALOREM TAXES:  7,930.63

COUNTY SOLID WASTE CREDIT FLAT RATE -34.41 ASSESSMENTS:  423.13

LILBURN LIGHTS $0.30/ft. X 100 ft.  30.00 TOTAL AMOUNT DUE  8,353.76

SPEED TABLES FLAT RATE  12.00

STORMWATER CREDIT FLAT RATE -23.00

STORMWATER SERVICE $2.46/100 sq.ft. X 8500 sq.ft.  209.10

TOTAL NON-AD VALOREM ASSESSMENTS:  423.13 GRAND TOTAL DUE THIS BILLING:  8,353.76

RETURN THIS PORTION WITH YOUR PAYMENT

TAX YEAR  DUE DATEPARCEL ID TOTAL DUE AMOUNT PAID

06/25/2015

 2015 R1234 001

GWINNETT TAXPAYER
1234 MAIN ST
LILBURN GA 30047

R1234 001  1S1R

:3004760460:  Address                      
 Change:   
                                
Check here and fill out the back 

of this remittance slip if your 

billing address or property 

location has changed.

$8,353.7610-15-2015

1    15   181234000010000   3   00000835376   00000835376    0
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• Georgia House Bill 100 - Allows vehicle owners whose vehicles fail an emissions test to receive a 
30-day Temporary Operating Permit; however, the vehicle must have liability insurance, and all other 
taxes, penalties or fees must be paid. 

• Georgia House Bill 147 - Allows vehicle owners to register a brand new vehicle for two years. 
- The two-year registration option is given during the initial registration for a $40 fee (standard 

plates only).
- “Brand new” means the vehicle has never been the subject of a sale at retail to the general public.
- Only for passenger cars designed to carry 10 passengers or less. 

• Georgia House Bill 170 - Creates new Alternative Fuel Vehicles (AFVs) and Highway Impact fees. 
- AFVs are vehicles fueled solely by electricity, natural gas, propane, bi-fuel, dual fuel (which includes 
flex fuel vehicles) or plug-in hybrid-electric vehicles. 

- All of these AFVs are eligible for the Alternative Fuel license plate (shown below). 
- The new, yearly Alternative Fuel fee applies to vehicles that operate solely on electricity or plug-in 
hybrids and flex fuel vehicles if they have the Alternative Fuel license plate. 

º Non-commercial AFVs: $200
º Commercial AFVs: $300

- The new annual Highway Impact fees are for all motor vehicles 
with a gross vehicle weight (GVW) rating of 15,500 pounds 
or more, and they apply to commercial and non-commercial 
vehicles. 

º GVW rating between 15,500 and 26,000 pounds: $50
º GVW rating of 26,001 pounds or more: $100
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Our new website has 
launched and it’s even better 
than before. In addition to 
a completely new look, it’s 

mobile responsive, making it 
even easier to pay property 
tax and renew your motor 
vehicle registration from 
your phones and tablets! 

Check out our newly-redesigned site!

New Motor Vehicle Legislation Effective July 1
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Locations and Contacts

Property Tax Office
Gwinnett Justice & 

Administration Center
75 Langley Drive 

Lawrenceville, GA 30046-6935
Monday - Friday

8am - 5pm

Lawrenceville Tag Office
750 South Perry St, 1st floor
Lawrenceville, GA  30046

Monday - Thursday
8am - 6pm

Norcross Tag Office
5030 Georgia Belle Ct, Ste 1013

Norcross, GA  30093
Monday - Thursday

8am - 6pm

Peachtree Corners 
Tag Office

6135 Peachtree Pkwy, Ste 201B
Norcross, GA  30092
Tuesday - Friday

8am - 6pm

Snellville Tag Office
2845 Lenora Church Road

Snellville, GA  30078
Tuesday - Friday

8am - 6pm

North Gwinnett Tag Office
2735 Mall of Georgia Boulevard

Buford, GA  30519
Wednesday - Saturday

8am - 6pm

Motor Vehicle Call Center
Agents available 8am - 5pm 

Monday - Friday
tag@gwinnettcounty.com

770-822-8818

Property Tax Call Center
Agents available 8am - 5pm 

Monday - Friday
tax@gwinnettcounty.com

770-822-8800

All Tax Commissioner offices will be closed Monday, 
September 7 for Labor Day. Offices will reopen Tuesday 
for normal business hours except the North Gwinnett tag 
office which is open Wednesday through Saturday.

Looking Ahead
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It was another great year for our Gwinnett Tax Team!  Our goal was $3,000 
and we exceeded that by $992!  The 2015 total for all 249 Gwinnett teams 
was $1,783,475.53.

This year, our team’s theme was the 
tropical “Wave Goodbye to Cancer,” and 
most of the money was raised by holding 
bake sales,  “dress-down” days and by 
participating in both the Gwinnett Gladiators’ 
and Gwinnett Braves’ Relay weekends. 

We’re already looking forward to an even 
better 2016! 

Property tax bills due Wednesday, 
October 15. 

Relay For Life 2015


